RULE OF THE MONTH: BALL CROSSES CREEK BUT ROLLS BACK INTO CREEK
There seems to be some confusion amongst us regarding the ruling on the event that the ball goes over the creek but rolls back in like on #5 or #13 or #18.
Rule 17 Penalty Areas is located on Page 104, 105 and of the Players Edition of the Rules of Golf.
Under Rule 17.1d when it is known or virtually certain that a ball is in the yellow penalty area you may play the ball as it lies. If the player wishes to take relief, the player has two options, each for one penalty stroke:
1) You may take stroke-and-distance relief by playing the original ball or another ball from a relief area based on where the stroke was made or:
2) You may take back-on-the-line relief by dropping the original ball or another ball in the relief area based on a reference line going straight back from the hole. In choosing a reference point, you should indicate the point by using an object such as a tee.
For example on hole #5, if your ball lands in the rough on the green side of the creek and then rolls back into the creek you must drop your ball back on the other side of the creek under one penalty stroke.
RULE OF THE MONTH: RELIEF FROM LOOSE IMPEDIMENTS AND MOVABLE OBSTRUCTIONS
How many of you remember in the Phoenix Open in 1999 when Tiger Woods had 20 spectators move a huge rock so he could play his ball. It all revolved around Rule 15 concerning loose impediments and moveable obstructions.
In a sand trap, a rock is a loose impediment. The rake is a moveable obstruction. But what is the difference between a loose impediment and a movable obstruction? Are there differences in the rule applying to each of these. When is it a penalty and when is it not a penalty? Why was Tiger able to get those 20 spectators to move that huge rock without any penalty?
Watch the video to learn about Rule 15.
Test your Rules of Golf knowledge with this trivia question:
Player A’s ball is on the putting green. Player A marks, lifts and replaces the ball, leaving the ball-marker directly behind the ball. Player A makes a practice swing and accidentally moves his ball. Player A rolls the ball back to its original spot with his putter. Player A picks up the ball-marker and plays the ball.
A: One-Stroke Penalty
B: Two-Stroke Penalty
C: No Penalty
A: One-Stroke Penalty
There is no penalty for accidentally moving a ball on the putting green. However, the ball must be replaced on the original spot by setting it down on the required spot and letting it go so that it stays on that spot. Rolling the ball back with the putter is not a correct procedure and Player A gets a one-stroke penalty.
See Rule 14.2b(2).
©2021 Sunset Ranch Ladies Club
5101 Upper Booth Rd S, Kelowna, BC V1X 7V8